Meeting of the Board of Education Flora Community Unit School District #35 March 16, 2020 - Administration Office 5:30 p.m.

| Members Present: | McCoy, Leib, Porter, Brooks, Wiley, Dunahee |
|-------------------------|---|
| Administration Present: | Hackney, T. Pearce, Leonard Pearce, |
| Guests: Kim Briggs | |

Media: Mary Maxwell

Call to Order: 5:32 p.m.

 Motion Porter, seconded by Leib to approve the Consent Agenda: Minutes of the February 19, 2020 meeting, Bills, Activity Account Statements, Treasurer's Report, IHSA membership for 2020-2021, Student Council trip to St. Louis Aquarium on March 26th, high school softball trip to O'Fallon Missouri to watch USA Olympic team on May 3rd, 8th grade trip to the Science Center in St. Louis on May 8th, 8th grade trip to Holiday World on May 15th. Roll call: Unanimous

RECOGNITION OF COMMENTS BY EMPLOYEES AND FROM THE PUBLIC

NEW BOARD BUSINESS

- 1. Motion Wiley, seconded by Dunahee to approve setting Tuesday, August 4th from 9:00-7:00 as registration date for the 2020-2021 school year. All ayes. Motion carried.
- 2. Motion Brooks, seconded by Leib, to approve school fees for the 2020-2021 school year as presented. Roll Call: McCoy, yes; Porter, yes; Wiley, yes; Brooks, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes.
- 3. Motion Dunahee, seconded by Brooks, to approve the licensed clinic professional agreement with Clay County Hospital. Roll Call: Porter, yes; Wiley, yes; Brooks, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; McCoy, yes.
- 4. Committee Reports: Superintendent Hackney reported that the athletic committee met on February 26th, the technology committee met on March 9th, and the city/ballfield meeting was held on March 10th. The district evaluation committee will meet on April 3rd and CAC will meet on April 8th.

5. Administrator Reports:

Mrs. Pearce: Huge thank you to staff for time and effort to prepare for extended break, only 8 packets not picked up and thanks you to the parents.

Mrs. Leonard: Thank you to staff for preparing for extended break.

T. Pearce: Thank you for effort and teamwork to get things ready for extended break. Yearbook staff performed well at USI and 2 students poems recognized at competition at VU/Wyse team 2nd place and 3rd at Sectional. Had a great Science Fair.

Hackney: Highlighted the IASB Spring Dinner meeting on March 10th, and the end of the third quarter on March 6th.

- 6. Motion Leib, seconded by Porter to enter into executive session. (6:05 p.m.) All ayes. Motion carried.
- 7. Motion Wiley seconded by Dunahee, to return to regular session. (7:52 p.m.) All ayes. Motion carried.
- 8. Motion Brooks, seconded by Porter, to adopt the resolution approving the honorable dismissal of non-certified teaching assistants Amanda Deters, Jordyn Strange, Diana Patterson, Amy Kitley, Nicole Allen, Tatiana Schlief, Emily Blackwell, Lauren Buchanan, Tammy Martin, Wanda Schewe, Dierdre Klein, Tammy Williams, Rebeca Larch, Chrissy Taylor. Roll call: Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Leib, yes; Brooks, yes; Wiley, yes, Porter, yes.
- 9. Motion Leib, seconded by McCoy, to adopt the resolution approving the honorable release of Pre-K Coordinator/Parent Educator-Emily Glassford, Pre-K PI Supervisor/Parent Educator-Cindy Leib, Pre-K Parent Educators-Anna Land and Caitlyn Eade. Roll call: Porter, yes; Wiley, yes; Brooks, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; McCoy, yes.
- 10. Motion, Wiley seconded by Dunahee, to re-employ first year non-tenured teachers Stephanie Simmons, Emma Forth, Anna Maloy, and Kelsey Cox. Roll call: Brooks, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; McCoy, yes; Wiley, yes; Porter, yes.
- 11. Motion Dunahee, seconded by Brooks to re-employ second year non-tenured teachers Amy Britton, Kierstyn Green, Jessica Crawford, Jennifer Fritcher, Rachel Webb, Paige Earleywine. Roll call: Brooks, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; McCoy, yes; Wiley, yes; Porter, yes.

- 12. Motion, Wiley seconded by Porter, to re-employ third year non-tenured teachers Monica Grove, Meredith Milligan, Stephanie Slankard, Mandy Thompson, Terry Branch, Jena Ferguson, and Kaley Himelick. Roll call: McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Porter, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; Wiley, yes.
- 13. Motion McCoy, seconded by Wiley, to re-employ fourth year non-tenured teachers and place on tenure: Melanie Shehorn, Chris Krutsinger, Ashley Harrington, Alyssa Rogers, Alyssa Charles. Roll call: Dunahee, yes; Porter, yes; Brooks, yes; McCoy, yes; Wiley, yes, Leib, yes.
- 14. Motion Dunahee, seconded by Porter, to re-employ part-time teachers John Upton, Karla Keck, and Patti Peters. Roll call: Brooks, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; McCoy, yes; Wiley, yes; Porter, yes.
- 15. Motion McCoy, seconded by Leib, to approve the extended contracts for John Winters-9 days; Doug Slagley-10 days; Terry Branch-10 days; Kelli Massie-10 days; Paige Earleywine-5 days; and Bryan Ridge, Kim Scarborough, Ryan Spicer, and Kierstyn Green on an as needed basis. Roll call: Dunahee, yes; Porter, yes; Brooks, yes; McCoy, yes; Wiley, yes, Leib, yes.
- 16. Motion Brooks seconded by Wiley, to re-employ Heather Durre as Technology Coordinator, Lee Melton as technology maintenance, Tonya Behnke as Special Education Coordinator, Frank Lusk as Transportation Director/Mechanic, and Bob Johnson as Maintenance Director with salaries as presented. Roll call: Porter, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; Brooks, yes; Wiley, yes; McCoy, yes.
- 17. Motion, Porter seconded by Dunahee, to re-employ Julie Pearce, Leslie Carder, Amy Leonard, Toby Pearce, Bob McNeely, and Dean of Students/JH Athletic Director John Winters with salaries as presented. Roll call: Brooks, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; McCoy, yes; Wiley, yes; Porter, yes.
- 18. Motion Leib, seconded by Brooks, to re-employ the following non-certified teaching assistants for the 2020-2021 school year: Jennifer Ayers, Erin Borcherding, Carrie Durre, Kayla Steele, Lynne Wilson, Penny Grubuagh, Cathy Taylor, Susan Block, Joy McKnelly, Joanie Thompson. Terry Igert. Roll call: Wiley, yes; Porter, yes; McCoy, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; Brooks, yes.
- 19. Motion Wiley, seconded by Porter, to approve the superintendent contract for Joel Hackney. Roll Call: Dunahee, yes; Porter, yes; Brooks, yes; McCoy, yes; Wiley, yes, Leib, yes.
- 20. Motion McCoy, seconded by Dunahee, to approve Erin McGrew as a volunteer assistant high school girls' softball coach for the 2020 season. Roll Call: Wiley, yes; Porter, yes; McCoy, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; Brooks, yes.

- 21. Motion Brooks, seconded by Porter, to approve and adopt the agreement for 2020-2025 between the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 702 and the Flora Community Unit School District No. 35. Roll Call: Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes; Wiley, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Porter, yes.
- 22. Motion Leib, seconded by Wiley, to accept the resignation submitted by Jordan Tanner effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year. Roll Call: Wiley, yes; Porter, yes; McCoy, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; Brooks, yes.
- 23. Motion Dunahee, seconded by McCoy, to employ Elizabeth Mesnard as band teacher at Flora High School for the 2020-2021 school year. Roll Call: Porter, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes; Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes.
- 24. Motion Porter, seconded by Brooks, to approve the resignation of Robin Nosek as transportation aide effective March 13, 2020. Roll Call: Wiley, yes; Porter, yes; McCoy, yes; Dunahee, yes; Leib, yes; Brooks, yes.
- 25. Motion Leib, seconded by Porter, to adjourn the meeting at (7:57 p.m.). All ayes. Motion carried.

President Signature/Date

Secretary Signature/Date